Tuesday, September 22, 2015

Dakota-Scott Workforce Investment Board seeks award nominations

The Dakota-Scott WorkForce Investment Board (WIB) is accepting nominations to recognize individuals, programs, companies and organizations doing great things to improve workplaces in Dakota and Scott Counties.  The awards will be presented at the WIB's annual Legislative and Employer Awards luncheon Dec. 11, 2015. Award categories are listed below. 
Send nominations to Mark Jacobs at mark.jacobs@co.dakota.mn.us by Nov. 1.  Please include the name of the nominee and a reason for nominating them.  For more information, contact the Workforce Investment Board at 651-554-5633.
The Mark McAfee Friend of Workforce Award is given to an individual who has championed workforce issues at the local, state or federal level.  Last year's winner was Senator Al Franken.  Previous winners include:  Larry Raddatz; Dakota County Commissioners Will Branning and Tom Egan; U.S. Representative John Kline; State Representatives Katie Sieben and Denny McNamara; Scott County Commissioner Bob Vogel; Burnsville Mayor Elizabeth Kautz; IHCC President Cheryl Frank; Apple Valley Mayor Mary Hamann-Roland; IHCC President Tim Wynes; and LaDonna Boyd.
The Business Champion Award is presented to an outstanding company that uses services provided by the Minnesota WorkForce Centers in Dakota and Scott Counties such as the job fairs, job postings, counselors, etc.  Past winners include:  Lettieri's; Don Christensen, Costco; Despatch Industries; Goodrich Sensor Systems; UPS; Vital Signs MN, Inc.; ConAgra Foods, Inc. - Store Brands; Waterous; Frontier Communications; Grazzini Brothers; Permac Industries; St. Gertrudes; Paychex; Stream Global; and BTD – Lakeville.
The Bob Killeen Award is presented to a company demonstrating successful implementation of quality practices.  Killeen, a former WIB member, was a tireless advocate for quality efforts in the workplace.  Past winners include:  Coca-Cola Refreshments; Ironwood Electronics; Analog Technologies Corp.; Dakota Electric; Uponor-Wirsbo; Flint Hills; Rollx Vans; Ryt-way Industries; Regina Medical Center; Performance Office Papers; Advanced Wireless Communications; and Imagine Print Solutions.
The Excellence in Youth Employment Services Awards are presented to organizations, programs, employers, or individuals who demonstrate a commitment to and effectiveness in preparing young people ages 14-21 to enter the workforce.  Two awards will be presented.  Awards are sponsored by Dakota Electric Association (Dakota County award) and St. Francis Regional Medical Center (Scott County award).
The Bob Klas, Sr. Entrepreneur Award recognizes a local entrepreneur success story.  Criteria for the award includes:  the entrepreneur's success as evidenced by business growth; the individual's leadership in the business and/or civic communities; and/or the mentorship they provide to other entrepreneurs.  Previous winners include:  Fred Shaw, Jim Marchessault, Jennifer Smith, Brad Rixmann, Dan Sjolseth, and Michael Esch.

No comments: