Thursday, March 5, 2015

New members appointed to Parks and Trails Legacy Advisory Committee

Minnesota Department of Natural Resources Commissioner Tom Landwehr, Metropolitan Council Chairman Adam Duininck, and Greater Minnesota Regional Parks and Trails Commission Chairman Al Lieffort have appointed seven new members to the committee that advises on the use of Legacy Amendment funds for Minnesota's state and regional parks and trails.

The new members are:

  • Brook Maier, White Bear Lake.
  • Whitney McKinley, Saint Paul.
  • Timothy Mitchell, Saint Paul.
  • Pete Royer, Litchfield.
  • Asha Shoffner, Minneapolis.
  • Joel Stedman, Marine on Saint Croix.
  • Patrick Stieg, Savage.

The purpose of the Parks and Trails Legacy Advisory Committee is to promote and coordinate implementation of the 25-Year Parks and Trails Legacy Plan. The plan guides the use of the Parks and Trails Fund, created after voters approved the Clean Water, Land and Legacy Amendment in November 2008. 

The Parks and Trails Fund receives 14.25 percent of the three-eighths percent sales tax revenue that may only be spent to support parks and trails of regional or statewide significance. The committee does not recommend the allocation of funding for specific projects. The 25-Year Parks and Trails Legacy Plan can be found at:

"The Parks and Trails Legacy Advisory Committee plays a critical role in helping us achieve the vision Minnesotans have for use of Parks and Trails Legacy funds and create an accessible, equitable, integrated system of state and regional parks and trails in Minnesota," Landwehr said. 

The committee is comprised of citizens and professionals who bring diverse perspectives on outdoor recreation. Members convene six times a year at locations across Minnesota. More information about the committee can be found at:
Committee members are appointed for two-year terms and may serve up to three consecutive terms.

The new members join current committee members:

  • Rick Anderson, Balaton.
  • Kathy Bergen, Duluth.
  • Bob Bierscheid, Roseville.
  • Nancy Hanson, New Hope.
  • Brian Hubbard, Saint Paul.
  • Dwight Morrison, Duluth.
  • Wayne Sames, Eagan.
  • Jenny Smith, Crosby.
  • Tom Stoa, Winona.
  • Tony Yarusso, Mahtomedi.

No comments: