Wednesday, January 9, 2013

Board of Supervisors Take Oath of Office

On January 3rd, the Dakota County Soil and Water Conservation District (SWCD) Board of Supervisors held its operational meeting for 2013.  At this meeting newly elected Supervisors Laura Zanmiller and Marian Brown took the oath of office.   Re-elected Supervisors Chris Nielsen and Joe Meyers also took the oath of office.   Brown, Nielsen and Meyers will each serve 4-year terms.   Zanmiller will serve 2-years to complete a vacated term from District 1.

The citizen elected Board of Supervisors for the SWCD are:

  • District 1 – Laura Zanmiller, West St. Paul (1st term)
  • District 2 – Marian Brown, Apple Valley (2nd term; non-consecutive)
  • District 3 - Kevin Chamberlain, Hastings (5th term; non-consecutive)
  • District 4 - Chris Nielsen, Farmington (3nd term)
  • District 5 - Joe Meyers, Hampton (6th term)

Officers for 2013 will include Joe Meyers as Chair, Chris Nielsen as Vice Chair, Kevin Chamberlain as Treasurer, Laura Zanmiller as Secretary, and Marian Brown as Public Relations and Information Officer.

Meyers stated, "The SWCD Board looks forward to the upcoming year to assist landowners, communities and organizations in promoting water quality and land stewardship throughout Dakota County."

The Board established the first Thursday of each month at 8:30 a.m. as the regular meeting date.  Meeting times are subject to change. The meetings are held at the Dakota County Conservation Center in Farmington and are open to the public.

For more information about the Board and SWCD programs visit their website at
Also attached is a photo of the Board of Supervisors – left to right:  Joe Meyers - District 5, Chris Nielsen - District 4, Laura Zanmiller – District 3, Marian Brown – District 4, and Kevin Chamberlain – District 3.

No comments: