The Hampton News: Helping To Build A Stronger Community Together.

Greg's Meats

Thursday, January 29, 2015

DNR announces new appointments to committee on natural heritage

Minnesota Department of Natural Resources Commissioner Tom Landwehr has appointed eight new members to the committee which advises the department on programs related to the state's native prairies, forests, and wetlands and their native plants and animals.

The new members are:

  • Laurie  Allmann, Marine on Saint Croix.
  • Matthew Anderson, St. Paul.
  • Kevin Brennan, Fergus Falls.
  • Gary Burdorf, Arlington.
  • Linda Kingery, Crookston.
  • John Pearson, St. Paul.
  • David Remucal, Chaska.
  • John Schladweiler, New Ulm.

These appointees to the Commissioner's Advisory Committee on Natural Heritage 
( will be responsible for advising the DNR on issues related to sustaining the state's natural heritage and biological diversity. Since 1966, the committee has been making recommendations and providing advice to the state scientific and natural areas program. In addition, the committee now advises other programs within the department's Ecological and Water Resources Division, including nongame wildlife, Minnesota biological survey, prairie protection, rare resources, wetland monitoring, and terrestrial invasive species.
People were sought who have broad knowledge and experience related to natural area systems, conservation biology, ecology, environmental education, natural resource management, or protection of Minnesota's rare species, natural communities, geology, and other components of natural diversity. Landwehr appointed the new committee members in December and January for terms of up to five years.  

New appointees join the current committee membership, including:

  • David Chaffin, Eau Claire, Wisconsin.
  • David Fulton, St. Paul.
  • George Host, Duluth.
  • Clint Miller, Pine Island.
  • Rebecca Montgomery, St. Paul.
  • John Moriarty, Plymouth.
  • Gerald Niemi, Duluth.

No comments: