The Hampton News: Helping To Build A Stronger Community Together.

Greg's Meats

Wednesday, April 17, 2013

U of M Extension provides info to help during flood preparation and recovery

University of Minnesota Extension has flood-related expertise in family finances, housing, farm and horticulture.

Research-based flood information is available at www.extension.umn.edu/flood. All of the articles on Extension's flood website may be published in the news media with credit.

To coordinate interviews with expert sources, contact Allison Sandve, ajsandve@umn.edu, (612) 626-4077 or Catherine Dehdashti, ced@umn.edu, (612) 625-0237; or contact the educator directly.

Here is a sampling of Extension experts who may be able to respond to phone and email interview requests:

Housing (mold, mildew, safe clean-up): Richard Stone, (612) 624-7712, stone159@umn.edu  

Septic systems and wells: Sara Heger, (612) 624-9282, sheger@umn.edu

Family resource management: Sarah Croymans, (320) 589-1711,  croym001@umn.edu

Family relations (talking with children about the flood): Ellie McCann, (218) 236-2009, mccan023@umn.edu

Horticulture: Terry Nennich, (218) 281-8690, nenni001@umn.edu

Turfgrass: Sam Bauer, (763) 767-3836, sjbauer@umn.edu

Trees: Gary Johnson, (612) 625-3765, johns054@umn.edu 

Agricultural business management: Bill Craig, (218) 281-8692, craig030@umn.edu

Crops:

Phil Glagoza (regional crops educator in Moorhead) (218) 236-2008, glogo001@umn.edu

Jeff Coulter (corn), (612) 625-8700, coult077@umn.edu

Seth Naeve (soybeans), (612) 625-4298, naeve002@umn.edu
Work
Jochum Wiersma (small grains), (218) 281-8629, wiers002@umn.edu

Mohamed Khan (sugarbeets), (701) 231-8596, khan132@umn.edu

Dan Kaiser (soils), (612) 624-3482, dekaiser@umn.edu

Livestock:

Allen Bridges (swine and beef), (218) 327-4615, gbridges@umn.edu

Lee Johnston (swine), (320) 589-1711, johnstlj@umn.edu

Mark Whitney (swine), (507) 389-5541, whitn007@umn.edu

Marcia Endres (dairy), (612) 624-5391, miendres@umn.edu 

Jim Salfer (dairy), (320) 203-6093, salfe001@umn.edu


Video resources that may be shared via media include:

How to clean your home after a flood: http://z.umn.edu/d9w

Cleaning your well and septic system after a flood: http://z.umn.edu/d9x

Also available are Extension's toll-free phone services, the Flood Information Line (1-800-232-9077) and the AnswerLine (1-800-854-1678). Extension's Flood Information Line is a resource for questions about water, crops, horticulture and climatology issues. Extension's AnswerLine provides answers to household and family-oriented questions, such as cleaning, mildew and food safety issues.

No comments: